In 1896 or 1897, there were two little plain-board shacks in the midst of a grove on Big Alum’s west shore. In the early 1900’s Samuel Bemis built his first real cottage close to the dam and gatehouse through which the Pond emptied. There was a little beach at this spot and Grandpa Bemis let the Baptists use it for their fresh water immersions. (Dr. Samuel Bemis) A few years later, he added the Middle Cottage and the East Cottage about a hundred yards apart with the intent of renting them out to summer visitors who came by horse and buggy from Southbridge, Worcester and Springfield.

